Whether you currently face drunk driving charges as a driver under 21 or you worry about your child facing these allegations, it is crucial to familiarize yourself with DUI laws and the potential penalties associated with these charges. Virginia takes a tough stance on underage drunk driving, and the seriousness of the consequences often takes young drivers by surprise.
It is imperative to go over all of your options and prepare for court carefully if you are in this position.
The legal limit and underage drunk driving
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles states that drivers under the age of 21 who have a blood alcohol content level of .02 or greater (but under .08) lose their driver’s license for one year after conviction. In addition, young drivers charged with driving under the influence could have to pay a $5,000 fine or perform community service for no less than 50 hours.
Furthermore, drivers under 21 who have a BAC level of .08 or greater face the same consequences for a DUI as those 21 and over.
The impact of underage drunk driving charges
In addition to leading to a license suspension, steep fines and community service, underage drunk driving charges can disrupt other facets of your life. For example, you could lose the ability to drive to work, and these charges could affect your professional future by interfering with your ability to apply for a particular job.
Try to remain calm if you face a DUI charge. Taking the time to evaluate the details of your case could help you avoid the worst consequences.